Home

It’s Saturday afternoon. December 30. The year is rolling to a close. I want it to sneak out without noticing me.

We are tapering off the year in southern California. My recent plumbing project is a thing of the past and the few other motorhome maintenance projects I have lined up are minor. I will definitely push them over to the new year.

I perked the morning coffee. As I stepped up to the kitchen sink, the mat on the floor went squish… squish… squish. I looked down. There was a puddle on the floor.

Oh, please, not again. I never signed up to be a plumber.

I opened the cupboard door and looked under the counter. It too was all wet. I went outside to be greeted by a puddle under the motorhome.

Aaaarrrghhhh…!

My life feels like a Groundhog Day series of plumbing disasters.

This time, though, the diagnosis was fairly straightforward. As I hauled the pots and pans and the rolling pin out of the cabinet, I could see water bubbling out of the water pump.

The new pump. Humming away happily.

We don’t need the pump when we are connected to city water. It’s there to suck water out of our own water tank when we have no outside source of water. It was not difficult to disconnect the pump and isolate it from our water system. In a few days the familiar FedEx truck will pull up with my new water pump.

So we are good to go for the time being. The dehumidifier is humming away as it attemps to dry out the floor under the cabinets. The hatch doors are open to encourage the carpet in the storage area under the motorhome to dry out. But at least we are reasonably dry now.

The ice cubes rattle as I swirl them around in my glass. I picked the wrong day to give up demon rum.

Little did I know that in a few days I would discover the leaking kitchen sink drain and the floppy drain pipe that had come loose from it.

Leave a comment