Home

We are settled in southern California for the time being. We are taking some time for rest and relaxation. Lots of quiet time away from everything and everyone. Once the new year rolls around we can make new plans and pick our next destination but for now we are glad to be here.

The weather has been nice. What I call Goldilocks weather: Not too hot. Not too cold. Just right. Mostly sunny with a few clouds. An occasional rain shower.

We’ve done a little exploring, visited friends, and feasted like royalty.

We’ll make plans each day as it comes.

Or life will make plans for us.

One evening there was a knock on the door. Our neighbour, camped two sites down.

“I think you’ve got a problem with your water.”

My flashlight lit up a serious dribble along with a sizable puddle next to the motorhome. Even worse, the water was now dripping from the hose connection and also was running down from the floor above. From someplace out of sight. This is not good. I turned off the water at the tap. It would be good to sleep on it and make a serious attempt to find and fix the problem the following day.

Morning came.

I nursed my coffee. And my second coffee. I nibbled on a muffin. I was not looking forward to this project.

Even in the light of day I could not see where the water was coming from. Apparently from some unreachable and unseeable location inside the motorhome. Even using a mirror I could see nothing..

After removing the hot water heater so I could see into those narrow crannies where the water lines run, my super-bright Harbor Freight Black-Friday-two-years-ago flashlight revealed… water lines running along a bone-dry space. Huh!..?

I retraced my steps from the spigot to the motorhome and eventually discovered a pinhole leak shooting an almost invisible stream of water up into the floor above. Thankfully, there was no actual leak in the floor above.

I manage to cobble up a temporary fix so we had hot and cold running water again. A few days later a FedEx truck dropped off my new hose connector.

Problem solved.

Leave a comment